TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
JaMarcus Russell's #1 Caucasian Fan

Paging TSM Teachers....

So after almost a year of searching, I finally landed my first post-grad job which is substitute teaching for my local elementary school district. Just have to finish processing and should be getting going at the beginning of the year. I'm not sure if I want to go all the way this (like actually becoming permanent), since I am studying to go to law school , but I figured this would be a good way to test the waters just to be sure (I've gone back and forth with teaching for a while).

I don't have any experience teaching kids and I have little experience working with K-6 kids. I have no problem with patience or anger and like the idea of teaching elementary school kids opposed to high school or junior high. I realize and am prepared to get tested from the kids since I will be a sub.

I figured I would sit in on a couple classes first to get a good idea of what to expect, but I figured I'd ask for some advice from some teachers here. So TSM teachers, any words of wisdom?

I wasn't going to reply to this because I knew I wouldn't be able to reply to this in a mature way but since nobody has replied to this and given you any advice yet I guess I will. So my advice to you is....

Don't forget your guns! :9mm:

:firing:

:lol:

I have no problem with patience or anger and like the idea of teaching elementary school kids opposed to high school or junior high.

You are wise. Junior high kids are the purest form of evil.

Basically, be prepared, don't forget your sense of humour, and don't try to be their friend.

Guest Vitamin X

Fuck no, I didn't. I lived in the older part of Valencia, by Granary Square. I guess you won't be teaching at any school I was familiar with though, since every one I went to was in the William S. Hart district.