Jump to content
TSM Forums
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

2007 MLB Awards

Sign in to follow this  


Before I get to my awards picks, here's my quick rundown of what I want out of this postseason.


1. No Red Sox/Yankees ALCS. Do I need to explain?

2. No Rockies/D-Backs NLCS. Do I need to explain?

3. D-Backs don't win the World Series. We have one 90's expansion team with two world championships already, we don't need another.

4. Indians win the ALCS. Besides the Giants, there are no teams in baseball that I would rather see less in a World Series than the Red Sox, Yankees, and Angels. The second the Indians are eliminated is the second I tune out from the postseason.


My gut feeling is we get another Yankees/D-Backs World Series with the Yankees prevailing this time. Finally Yankees' fans many years of suffering will be over! On to the awards.


I should note that when I post my player rankings for the year there may be some differences from my awards but mainly because I throw this together pretty quick. Last year I had C.C. Sabathia as 3rd for A.L. Cy Young but by the time I did the rankings for starting pitchers I had Sabathia about 5th or 6th. Also I'm going to be lazy and not bother with typing out players stats. You know where to find them anyways.




This was a wide open race all year with no one ever seeming to take a real strangle hold on the spot as favorite. The media has narrowed it down to Matt Holliday, Jimmy Rollins, and Prince Fielder but my choice is David Wright as he was just a tad better across the board. Any writer's who held out until the last second to submit their ballots probably filled in Holliday's name at #1 today and his late season surge I think will make him a PAC (Pefectly Acceptable Choice) but it's a shame that Wright is unlikely to finish better than 4th and the Mets' collapse has completely overshadowed his amazing season. Fielder would be a pretty uninspiring choice and Rollins would be almost on the level of Justin Morneau winning the A.L. MVP last year.


1. 34438890101.jpg


2. Matt Holliday, Rockies

3. Albert Pujols, Cardinals

4. Hanley Ramirez, Marlins

5. Miguel Cabrera, Marlins

6. Prince Fielder, Brewers

7. Chipper Jones, Braves

8. Chase Utley, Phillies

9. Jimmy Rollins, Phillies

10. Ryan Howard, Phillies


N.L. Cy Young


This and A.L. MVP are by far the easiest choices. Hopefully no idiot writers will decide to penalize Jake Peavy for lack of clutchiness on the mound last night as he was far and away the best pitcher in the N.L. and should be the unanimous winner. 2nd place was also very easy but 3rd place proved very difficult to decide but finally went with John Smoltz over Aaron Harang, subject to change of course when I do the pitcher rankings.


1. 34439120101.jpg


2. Brandon Webb, Diamondbacks

3. John Smoltz, Braves


N.L. Rookie of the Year


This will be my most questionable choice. ROY's I think can be very tough to choose because you are dealing with candidates who some played the whole season and others who were midseason call ups. Ryan Braun was an absolute force at the plate but he's also hacker (29 BB/112 SO) and a liabiltiy defensively. So I decided to go with Troy Tulowitzki, who was with the Rockies the whole season, giving them Gold Glover caliber defense at shortstop and by the end of the year had put up some strong offensive numbers.


1. 34244000101.jpg


2. Ryan Braun, Brewers

3. Hunter Pence, Astros




Magglio Ordonez had a shockingly good rebound year and hung tough for a very long time in this race but by the end of the year he couldn't stick with A-Rod. All have to say about my ballot is, seriously what the fuck happened to Carlos Pena this year? Biggest fluke ever or best late bloomer ever?


1. 34440030101.jpg


2. Magglio Ordonez, Tigers

3. Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners

4. David Ortiz, Red Sox

5. Vladmir Guerrero, Angles

6. Carlos Pena, Devil Rays

7. Victor Martinez, Indians

8. Grady Sizemore, Indians

9. Jorge Posada, Yankees

10. Curtis Granderson, Tigers


A.L. Cy Young


Josh Beckett is going to win the writer's award. There was so much hand wringing and phony outrage by the baseball writer's last year about there being no 20 game winners in either league that anyone who won 20 games this season with an ERA under 4 is going to win the award. Not to say Beckett will be a bad choice, just the wrong choice.


1. 34439070101.jpg


2. Josh Beckett, Red Sox

3. Johan Santana, Twins


A.L. Rookie of the Year


Toughest pick of them all. Jeremy Guthrie has no shot at all at the writer's award due to having only a 7-5 record but he's my pick here in pretty much a coin flip over Dustin Pedroia. Hell I couldn't even find a picture of 2007 baseball card for Guthrie.


1. Jeremy Guthrie, Orioles

2. Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox

3. Brian Bannister, Royals

Sign in to follow this