Jump to content
TSM Forums
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

Award Redo Recap

Sign in to follow this  


This is a bit of a throw away entry but I had been wanting to rundown the 23 MVP redos I've done entries for. I have other redos that I've done (including the entire decade of the 80's) but haven't done entries for yet. What I decided to do is group the redos into categories in terms of how good or bad the choice was by the writers. Thought it would be a good time to do this after the writer's awful choice of Justin Morneau. I had Morneau 9th on my 2006 A.L. MVP mock ballot.


Writers Made the Right Choice


1980 A.L. George Brett

1989 A.L. Robin Yount

1999 N.L. Chipper Jones


Writers Choice was Pefectly Acceptable (Writer's Pick/My Pick)


1985 N.L. Willie McGee/Dwight Gooden

1986 A.L. Roger Clemens/Don Mattingly

1988 N.L. Kirk Gibson/Will Clark

1991 A.L. Cal Ripken/Frank Thomas

1995 N.L. Barry Larkin/Greg Maddux

2003 A.L. Alex Rodriguez/Carlos Delgado


Writers Made the Right & Wrong Choice (Writer's Picks/My Pick)


1979 N.L. Keith Hernandez & Willie Stargell/Keith Hernandez


Bad Choices by the Writers (Writer's Pick/My Pick)


1979 A.L. Don Baylor/Fred Lynn

1987 A.L. George Bell/Alan Trammell

1991 N.L. Terry Pendleton/Barry Bonds

1998 N.L. Sammy Sosa/Mark McGwire


The Justin Morneau Achievement Awards (Writer's Pick/My Pick)


1960 N.L. Dick Groat/Eddie Mathews

1974 N.L. Steve Garvey/Joe Morgan

1981 A.L. Rollie Fingers/Dwight Evans

1984 A.L. Willie Hernandez/Cal Ripken

1987 N.L. Andre Dawson/Tim Raines

1992 A.L. Dennis Eckersley/Frank Thomas

1995 A.L. Mo Vaughn/Edgar Martinez

1996 A.L. Juan Gonzalez/Alex Rodriguez

1999 A.L. Ivan Rodriguez/Derek Jeter

Sign in to follow this