TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Suicide King

Difficulties saving to memory card.

Guest Suicide King

So I started playing Final Fantasy 7 again earlier today on my PS2, and much to my surprise I was unable to save at any save point. It didn't detect my PS2 memory card. So I popped in FF8 to try that out as well, but I had the same problem. All my PS2 games are saving just fine to this card so it isn't defective.

Is there something I can do about this? Do I just need to get a different brand of memory card, or is it just impossible to save these games to PS2 memory cards? Any advice would be appreciated.

You can store PS1 game saves on PS2 cards, but you can't save/load up from a PS2 card. You need to use PS1 cards to actually play the game and save/load game data.

However, you can back up PS1 saves on a PS2 card. They use a different format to read/record data-- 8 MB PS2 card vs. "15 block" PS1 card (= about 1 MB).

Guest Suicide King

So where do I go about getting PS1 memory cards then, and do they even work with a PS2, or do I need to get my PS1 out of cold storage to play these games all the way through?

So where do I go about getting PS1 memory cards then, and do they even work with a PS2, or do I need to get my PS1 out of cold storage to play these games all the way through?

The PS2 will let you play PS1 games while using PS1 memory cards. However, you can't save PS2 games on PS1 cards at all, and you can't use PS2 cards to play with the data saved on them.

You can find new PS1 memory cards pretty easily, and you can get a ton of used PS1 memory cards for very cheap at Gamestop/EBs. 1st party versions are best, but most 3rd party ones work fine. Stay away from the more unusual looking cards though, and especially stay away from the ones that promise "8x the storage of standard Playstation memory cards!" The multi-page memory cards usually are trouble.