TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Angel_Grace_Blue

Investments

Anyone own stocks/bonds/any other security?

I don't have any investments right now, but I plan on grabbing some in the future.

Maybe everyone on TSM can pool our money together and buy a share or two of Berkshire Hathaway, which is trading for around $130,000 per share.

Canadian or American? I'm told by my various Indian friends I work with that Money Market T-Bills in US dollars are supposedly doing alright at the moment. I work in Credit so I haven't really branched out in terms of my portfolio but work has a good employee plan so I probably should soon.

I do investments and insurance for a living. Currently, I have an insurance policy that is tied to mutual funds. I use American Funds for my funds in that policy. The AF Growth fund has averaged 14.65% since its inception, which was Feb. 1984. That gves you a fairly broad range of ups and downs, which shows it is a pretty good balanced fund.

I also am investing in a Roth 401(k) at the moment. In 2006, my first year at MetLife, my Roth did 15.0%. Last year, I pulled 20.2%. As of Thursday, this year has been an abortion (-7.36%). That doesn't bother me though, because I am keeping the same percentage of my paychecks going into the Roth each week. When you do that, you are basically getting mare shares for your money. That way, when the market goes back up, you make more money. I am viewing both of these as long term investments. If you don't know much about Roth (401(k) or IRA), you pay no taxes when you take the money out later. Pretty good system if it is right for you.