TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
MARTYEWR

Interview with HHH

Credit to the pop-up city wrestling website. Please don't bother clicking it...

HHH TAKES AIM AT INTERNET WRESTLING WRITERS, WHY BOOKER AND RVD DIDN'T GET A PUSH, WHY BRET HART WAS WRONG IN MONTREAL AND MORE

by Anthony Greff @ 1:05:00 PM on 1/29/2005

Anthony Greff: You began bodybuilding at age 14, why exactly did you get involved in it?

HHH: It wasn’t necessarily a conscious decision to start bodybuilding. I was always impressed by the larger then life physics of wrestlers and bodybuilders and thing like that. The first time I went into a gym there were these huge larger then life guys that I was just in awe of and I wanted to look like them, I wanted to be the guy that was larger than life. I knew going to the gym would get me there and when I started lifting weights, the “iron bug” caught me and I realized the harder I pushed myself the better benefit I would receive. It was a cause and effect thing and it thrilled me.

AG: You were accepted pretty easily into this group of body builders too, weren’t you?

HHH: I don’t believe it had anything to do with who I was, but the fact that they saw this skinny young kid, who just wouldn’t stop. I think they came to respect that fact about it.

AG: At age 19 you went on to win the title of Mr. Teenage New Hampshire. Did you win any other titles or compete any more outside of this?

HHH: I never actually competed outside of the teenage realm. I was very tall and needed time to fill out before I went into the men’s division, so I held off on competing any more. I was still training heavily, but around that time I started getting involved in pro wrestling and that took off.

AG: You also went on to manage a health club?

HHH: Ya, I started working at health clubs when I was 16 and then I got good at that and was went on to manage heath clubs and consult for another one at that time.