Sure, but you can fault the referees for allowing the punt on 4th down to go, whistling that play dead, and then deciding to challenge the preceding play. The snap of the next play is supposed to nullify any opportunities for throwing the challenge on the previous play, right? Or did Belichick really get that flag out there before the punt and I just missed it from the broadcast?
EDIT: They lobbied for it during the TV timeout that followed the punt? Are you fucking serious?
They challenged the punt. That was the play where the Giants had 12 men on the field. The Patriots had until the Giants ran their (got it right that time!) next play. Nothing to complain about at all there.
Oh, fuck me. That was a bad time for a mis-type.