TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Damaramu

Ever felt like you just can't get the right job?

Ok, so I graduated college last May with a bachelor's degree in journalism. Well I used that to secure a job as sports editor wtih the Dodge City Daily Globe last August.

I worked by myself in a town that was used to having 2-3 sportswriters and was just generally miserable. My boss was a complete idiot and wanted me to always do more with less. People around the paper were dropping like flies and I was constantly yelled at by cross country mothers for not driving 2 1/2 hours to cover a meet. Other than that I got a lot of compliments. But, Dodge City sucks ass and the job sucked. It's hard to cover a main high school. a JUCO and 13 area schools by yourself with no stringer or part-time help.

Plus I was on salary and only making 22K and working 50-60 hours a week. So I quit and moved back to OK at the beginning of May.

Since coming back I've taken a few temporary jobs, but I'm still looking for my career. I don't want to work for a newspaper anymore. You make close to pennies working there and I can't handle it. I still like to write about sports, but that can be accomplished by strining on Friday nights at high school football games.

So, I've applied to become a police officer and to work at Enterprise Rent-A-Car.

Both pay about the same, 30K. Everyone keeps telling me that's nothing but it's a hell of a lot more than 22K and there is room for advancement (nobody at the Globe had gotten a raise in 3 years).

So I hear the general horror stories about cops and people try to discourage me saying I'll be miserable because everyone I encounter will hate me, etc. They also say that I'll become a shady person if I become a cop. That doesn't make a ton of sense to me. And my mom is afraid of me getting killed in the line of duty.