Jump to content

The ALCS: New York Yankees vs. Boston Red Sox


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 1.9k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted

Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

Posted

A dead ball means the play is over. Jeter never advanced.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

Good work Chris.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

Posted

I have an old rulebook my pops gave me a while back, with all the history behind the rules, but I couldn't find the damn thing. Thanks Chris.

Posted

No judgment needed. Batter-runner hadn't reached first at time of interference. He had to return.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

You highlighted the wrong section. The last sentence is what applies in this situation, since A-Rod never got to first.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

No because by your "Judgement" Jeter scored before they ever said, "dead ball" The fact is, A-rod Swatted the ball and the ball was declared dead. Just like a foul ball is a dead ball and even if the runner gets to second before the ball falls into the stands, HE STILL GOES BACK TO 1st.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

The last sentence supercedes that clause. You'll notice it says "unless otherwise provided by these rules."

Guest Anglesault
Posted
What overpaid pieces of trash. Seriously. what a disgrace this team is.

You must be talking about both the teams on tonight :P

uhm...okay...

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

No because by your "Judgement" Jeter scored before they ever said, "dead ball" The fact is, A-rod Swatted the ball and the ball was declared dead. Just like a foul ball is a dead ball and even if the runner gets to second before the ball falls into the stands, HE STILL GOES BACK TO 1st.

I didn't say he scored before he hit the ball.

 

But I'm pretty damn sure Jeter was at 2nd BEFORE A-Rod hit the ball away.

Posted
What overpaid pieces of trash. Seriously. what a disgrace this team is.

You must be talking about both the teams on tonight :P

uhm...okay...

Well assuming the Sox don't win the series, they will go back to "The Yankees' bitch" status, and at the same time, you will forget all the insults you hurl towards your 180 million wonder boys, and revel in their win.

Guest Anglesault
Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

No because by your "Judgement" Jeter scored before they ever said, "dead ball" The fact is, A-rod Swatted the ball and the ball was declared dead. Just like a foul ball is a dead ball and even if the runner gets to second before the ball falls into the stands, HE STILL GOES BACK TO 1st.

I didn't say he scored before he hit the ball.

 

But I'm pretty damn sure Jeter was at 2nd BEFORE A-Rod hit the ball away.

It's the rules. If A-Rod would have done what he should have (mowed Bobby Arroyo down and trample him) we wouldn't have this discussion.

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

No because by your "Judgement" Jeter scored before they ever said, "dead ball" The fact is, A-rod Swatted the ball and the ball was declared dead. Just like a foul ball is a dead ball and even if the runner gets to second before the ball falls into the stands, HE STILL GOES BACK TO 1st.

I didn't say he scored before he hit the ball.

 

But I'm pretty damn sure Jeter was at 2nd BEFORE A-Rod hit the ball away.

You're missing the point, mike.

 

A-Rod never got to first, therefore, Jeter goes back to the base that he occupied when the pitch was thrown

Posted
Here we go:

 

INTERFERENCE

(a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. In the event the batter runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

JUDGMENT.

 

Jeter was at second base.

No because by your "Judgement" Jeter scored before they ever said, "dead ball" The fact is, A-rod Swatted the ball and the ball was declared dead. Just like a foul ball is a dead ball and even if the runner gets to second before the ball falls into the stands, HE STILL GOES BACK TO 1st.

I didn't say he scored before he hit the ball.

 

But I'm pretty damn sure Jeter was at 2nd BEFORE A-Rod hit the ball away.

It doesn't matter where Jeter was. A-Rod had not reached first. According to the rule, the runners return to the base they held before the play.

Guest Anglesault
Posted
Besides, A-Rod never touched first anyway.

And he ran well out of the baseline. Whole thing was bizarre.

Posted
But I'm pretty damn sure Jeter was at 2nd BEFORE A-Rod hit the ball away.

Mike, it means that A-Rod had to make it to first and then cause the interference, for Jeter to advance to 2nd.

Ah.

 

Gotcha.

Posted

But at that point the play was over. Since he never reached first at the time of interference, Jeter vhad to return to the base occupied at the beginning of the play.

Posted
Besides, A-Rod never touched first anyway.

He came back and touched it after the ball went into the outfield.

My last time on the subject:

 

Interference happened before A-Rod got to first. A-Rod is declared out at the spot of the interference. A-Rod, then, never got to first base, and Jeter has to return to first, as it states in the rules.

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...