TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Craig Th

Credit Cards...

Well, how many do you have?

I have two, one with a $450 limit and the other with a $300 limit. When I turned 18, I got a credit card with a $1000 limit and didn't pay it off till this past year. My credit is now shot and I am in the process of fixing it, which I am doing pretty well with.

I have a Mastercard that I've never used. I signed up for it at an Astros' game to get a free coffee thermos. I only got it cuz I needed something to put my coffee in.

Guest Vitamin X

I have 3, but they all have a relatively small limit, so it kind of works well in that fashion. I had a small credit card I got when I was 18 and I never paid off for whatever reason, so that fucked up my credit until this year or so, roughly.

I don't keep them with me in my wallet, either, I have a separate wallet for them and my checkbook, so I only bring them with me if I'm going to go out to purposefully buy something, works well against impulse purchases.

One of the best tips I've learned about credit cards (and thus, building credit) is to only put on them what you can pay in full by the end of the month, or at worst, a couple months down the line. Also, to try to just get the cards that give you crap for charging stuff onto them (like frequent flyer miles or whatever). Then if you're financially responsible, you'll get free stuff and travel just for buying things as your normally would.

I don't get why you'd get a credit card with only a $300 limit. Why not just use a debit card for something that small?

More than likely, he's in the same boat that I'm in and has had crappy credit, so he can only get cards with smaller limits. Orchard Bank, First Premier, Applied Card, and sometimes Capital One are the ones that offer cards to people (for a price) to help rebuild their credit.

Am I the only one here with a lot of credit?

I have 3

Bank of America (Visa): 7.99% - $7500 limit