TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Papacita

SABOTAGED!!!

Because this is my first time starting a thread since God knows when, I need this discussion to be either REALLY good or REALLY shitty! No in between! Go all out for this one, people! This is an event!

Basically, I was reading the Debuts and Downfalls thread and started thinking about the wrestlers who, for whatever reason, had their push intentionally sabotaged, and I'd like for you kind folk here at TSM to post about those wrestlers in this thread. The sabotage could be something that was factually proven true, something you speculate was true...fuck, if you were the one who did the sabotaging, then share the details.

I've got a few that come to mind, but right off the bat, one I've always thought was fishy--and this is really what inspired me to make this thread--was Scott Steiner's 2003 run with WWE. Most folks will disagree here, since he wasn't all that popular with the net crowd, and because by the time he arrived he was in SUCH bad shape, but here's what I don't get with Steiner:

We've had people on here post about how selfish HHH was in a *good* match with RVD just because he decided to work a more old school style, which wasn't really RVD's strength. HBK gets criticized for overselling against Hogan despite carrying him to his most watchable match in years and doing absolutely zero damage to Hogan's reputation. In Steiner, you have one of the most over people on the roster going into Rumble 03 (at least in terms of crowd reaction), and he comes out of a horrible match damn near ruined! Could he have been in better shape? Hell yes, he could have! But you mean to tell me that NO ONE in WWE knew of Steiner's condition going into the match? I remember reports being posted nearly a month earlier that the house show matches between the two were horrible, yet they take this man who's CLEARLY not in shape and give him a damn near 20 minute match??? And you think they were surprised at the result?