TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Epic Reine

Why the hell is it so hard to meet people...

Me and my friends talk about this a lot.

Back in high school, it was so ridiculously easy to meet new people and make friends. The friends that I know and hang out with now and all people I met in high school. Back before I started my freshman year in college, I was excited to be in a different surrounding and meet new people. I'm in my third year now and haven't really made any friends since I was a freshman and I don't know why and my friends have experienced the same thing. Is it because high school was a smaller, more interactive setting? Did it have more people you could relate to? Maybe it's just me...

Well, it's like my second week and college, and I already see the same thing. I have a few friends from high school around, so it's not so bad, but everyone seems serious and to themselves more during classes. No one speaks to each other, makes jokes like they use to. Being an adult seems boring.

Guest Felonies!

This thread is gonna get ugly in a hurry.

In before the dumbfuckery: I like some of the people I've been chatting with before/during/after classes the last two or three days, but I think I enjoy talking to my professors more.

Freshman year usually sort of sucks.

Everyone says you meet your realy friends sophomore year, and it's true. Freshman year most people generally just fall in with whomever they live around.

Going to a state or party school helps, unless you want to spend all day in serious academic discussions, or so I understand from the couple friends I had who went to small liberal arts colleges.

Also, I had the opposite experience, as I went to a very small, elite high school. Most everyone was way too full of their own shit, and all my friends were from a couple neighboring public schools, or grade school days.