TSM Forums
Sign in to follow this  
BifEverchad

'Proper' typing technique...

I'm currently back in school after a LONG 5 year absense and I'm in the midst of doing a Computer Studies program at a local college. Anyways, within the program there's a basic Keyboarding Course, which is apart of the criteria, and I have to say. Its a pain in the ass.

I'm talking about the 'home row' and proper typing techniques that come along with it. I'm just so used to typing all over the place (and good enough at it I might add), that I can't quite grasp the new 'Home Row' of ASDF, JKL;, etc. It's gonna take a shitload of classes to get me on track, as apposed to my own technique I've been practicing for the past 5 years or so.

Basic, question: Who here can type in 'proper' form?

Also, any helpful hints or pointers for ol' dumbass here?

Bif

Ever since I took a keyboarding class in high school I've used the proper technique and I've gotten quite fast at it too.

I liked the keyboarding class because before that I was hunting and pecking at the keyboard. Now I couldn't even think of hunting and pecking.

My 7th grade Computer/Science teacher (meaning she taught both subjects) drilled us on typing the proper way so I'm pretty good at it...although people have pointed out that I tend not to use my pinky fingers when I type.

Guest Retro Rob

I'm pretty good at knowing where all the letters are without using the proper technique, or looking. Plus I use two fingers from both hands.

For instance, I just typed that without the home row, or peaking.

I use the home-row technique. Learned it after a few weeks in high school's typing class. Since then I've typed around 65-75 wpm.

Important thing to remember -- most of the rarely uses letters are in the hard-to-get places (q/z/x). Also, don't be afraid of making mistakes -- walking (or should I say typing?) on eggshells will only make it worse.